J. Michael Dutton Summit Award


Presented to a member of the MMASC Executive Board or a Regional Board Member who has made a significant and/or sustained contribution to MMASC. The award is named after J. Michael Dutton who was an active member of the organization, an innovator, and leader of public sector programs. He served the cities of San Gabriel, Monterey Park, and San Dimas. He mentored many and promoted MMASC as a key component of professional development, before his untimely death in 1984 at the age of 36. The J. Michael Dutton Summit Award has been awarded ever since.

Past Recipients (partial list)

  • 2023: Alyssa Palma, City of Anaheim
  • 2022: Jonathan Royas, City of Santa Paula
  • 2021: Izzy Murguia, City of Poway
  • 2020: Paolo Kespradit, City of West Hollywood
  • 2019: Monica Martinez, City of El Cajon
  • 2018: Lori Karaguezian, Orange County Sanitation District
  • 2017: Tanya Spiegel, City of Ontario
  • 2016: Nicholas Gonzalez, City of Ontario
  • 2015: Alex Hernandez, City of Santa Clarita 
  • 2014: Alma Janabajab, County of Santa Barbara
  • 2013: Andrew Potter, County of San Diego 
  • 2012: Aggie Nesh, City of Irvine
  • 2011: Ingrid Hardy, City of Santa Clarita
  • 2010: Annie Clark, City of Moreno Valley
  • 2009: John Keisler, City of Long Beach
  • 2008: Grahame Watts, City of Thousand Oaks
  • 2006: Sarona Vivanco, City of Santa Clarita